Pasta & Vinegar

This is a brilliant and very inspiring blog, and the post about the Bubbles of Radio is very nice too, with issues that I will definitely keep in mind with future work on this project.

“Although the press captured that project as “artist work to visualize bluetooth and wifi“ [ref to Wired], I am pretty sure there is really more to draw out of this work. For example, I would be curious to see how people are aware of these airwaves and how they have a representation of them: how do we represent ourselves the airwaves of cell-phones or microwave-oven. And maybe in a second phase to use this a material to talk with people about the existence and the shape of electromagnetic fields (it would require a less barbarian vocabulary though).

Their usefulness is indeed tough to describe (it’s more an intuition) but my impression is that making such things visual is an important first step before discussing them (as we human being are very visual-oriented).” [quoted from Pasta & Vinegar]

5 Responses to “Pasta & Vinegar”

  1. nicolas Says:

    So there’s a follow-up to this work? I think there’s a lot to pursue here.

    On a different note, will you publish the book? It seems so well-crafted!

  2. immelie Says:

    I haven’t really decided yet, but I’d love to as I agree there are still lots to elaborate on. Ragearding the book, I’m in the process of printing and binding it properly now. The one used in the presentation was a “hacked” antique Flora. I’ll post when ready.

  3. Julian Bleecker Says:

    Hello — this is a beautiful project, and I particularly like the representations. They’re quite nice and in the vein of cryptozoology, or maybe cryptotechnology or some such. Well done!

  4. immelie Says:

    Hi there,
    sorry, I hadn’t seen this comment before now, but I will certainly look up that interesting word you refer to. And thanks for the comment! :)

  5. Lucile Says:

    If some one needs expert view concerning running a blog then i suggest
    him/her to go to see this weblog, Keep up the fastidious work.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

